Accommodations · South Korea

Birdsnest Hostel

DSC_3092

Stayed at Birdsnest Hostel in Hongdae for my Seoul trip.

So why did I chose Birdsnest? If you try to search for Birdsnest in Agoda and read all the comments about the hostel, you will definitely want to book it right away. It’s cheap – paid around 500 pesos ($12) per night for a mixed dormitory room, it has free wifi, free breakfast and most of the comments said that it was near the subway and bus station (which is what I usually look for in a hostel).

Also, most of the comments said that if you are travelling alone, there is a great chance to meet other travelers and since I am in dire need of company, I thought it would be best to stay here.

Mr. Lee (owner of the hostel) emailed me a map on how to go to go to the hostel. I was actually surprised because this was not my first time that I booked a hostel in Agoda, but this is my first time that the owner of the hostel emailed me regarding my reservation. I thought that Mr. Lee was nice enough to send me a map.

map_birdsnestWhat’s good about this hostel is you can ride a bus or use the subway station. The Hongik University station can be accessed through the airport railroad so you don’t have to do any transfers. The airport limousine bus (6002) also stops directly at the station near the hostel.

I arrived there by taxi because I missed my bus stop and I got lost (HAHA). I had a hard time trying to look for the hostel since the taxi driver didn’t drop me off in front of the hostel but to a street near the hostel. And the map that Mr. Lee sent me didn’t show any landmarks from where the taxi dropped me off and I had a hard time processing my surroundings because I WAS FREEZING!!! But thank you for the guy who helped me but sent me to a different hostel LOL but I appreciate your effort and you were quite cute HIHI and to the owner of the wrong hostel where the guy dropped me off who took me to the right hostel.

Anyway, when I arrived at the hostel, I pushed the doorbell and Mr. Lee opened the gate and told me that I would be staying at the second floor mixed dormitory room instead (I initially booked  a room on the first floor). The second floor has a lock system which I find very cool because I only see it being used in Koreanovelas :))

DSC_3114

The purpose of the lock system is that if you decide to stay very late and come back at the wee hours in the morning, you don’t have to knock and disturb other people to go back to the hostel. Every guest was given a key for the gate and a passcode so you can enter and leave any time you want 😛 YAY FOR NO CURFEW!!! 😀

Here is a view of our room:

DSC_3729

It looks smaller in the picture though. You will be given green sheets for the pillow, mattress and blanket and upon checking out, you have to give them your used sheets which means that you get to use clean sheets for your bed 😛

Common room:

DSC_3730

This is were the late night/early morning conversations happen 🙂 Oh and the carpet is very smooth 😛

Lockers and hot and cold water:

DSC_3733

You have to bring your own padlock tho 😛

Wifi!!!! Who doesn’t look for free wifi nowadays? Their wifi is pretty fast too 🙂

DSC_3734

Utensils!! You just have to wash it after every use 🙂 There’s also free coffee, tea and jam 🙂

DSC_3735

Blow dryer and flat iron. You can also put your make up here. There’s a light switch for the mirror 🙂

DSC_3737

Breakfast from 8:00 – 10:00
DSC_3739

Free use of towels but limited to one towel only per day :)
Free use of towels but limited to one towel only per day 🙂
CCTV!
CCTV!
Mr. Lee can also arrange the DMZ/JSA Tour!
Mr. Lee can also arrange the DMZ/JSA Tour!
Shower rooms!
Shower rooms!
Toiletries! If you forgot to bring toiletries, no worries! You can just use the ones at the shower room.
Toiletries! If you forgot to bring toiletries, no worries! You can just use the ones at the shower room. Not the loofah of course 😛
Dining Table!
Dining Table!
JAMES PATTERSON!!
JAMES PATTERSON!!
Message board
Message board
Shoe cabinet :)
Shoe cabinet 🙂

DSC_3753

A computer that you can use for free!
A computer that you can use for free!

The hostel also offers free use of the washing machine but I didn’t had the chance to take a picture of it. But you can check out their website here 🙂

The facilities are very clean and the hostel is very near the subway. It’s just a 7 minute walk and there are a lot of restaurants, cafes, marts and convenience stores around the area. There is also a bank near the subway so if you need to change your money you don’t need to go far but remember that banks usually close at 4 pm 🙂

Another plus is that the Hongik University station is near the Trick Eye Museum! Click link for pictures 🙂

Overall, I really liked my stay here in Birdsnest 🙂 I got to meet a  lot of people here and bond with them. Thank you Mr. Lee for your hospitality!

So if you are looking for a cheap hostel with everything you need I think this hostel is the best 😀


2 thoughts on “Birdsnest Hostel

Leave a Reply

